Research Guides: Film Studies: Find Articles & Film Reviews

Overview

Search Hunter Library's databases for articles (popular, news, scholarly, and more) and film reviews.

Read WCU Film Studies students' descriptions of scholarly articles and databases (lightly edited for content, clarity, and brevity).

Scholarly articles are sources that deal with specialized aspects or interpretations of film. They differ from public scholarship in that they are peer-reviewed and usually published by academic journals. The intensive processes of peer review and publishing mean that articles are unlikely to be written on recently released films, though that is not always the case. Articles can be found in academic databases by searching terms related to film. - Ryan Reynolds, ENGL 478, spring 2024

The links in the Articles box take you directly to academic databases to find your very own scholarly sources to use in your own film academic papers! - Deja Gordon, ENGL 478, spring 2024

Articles

Arts Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Arts Premium Collection encompasses cross-searchable databases with thousands of journal titles, ensuring deep searches of extensive collections in Art, Design, Architecture, Humanities, Film/Screen Studies, Music, Performing Arts, and more. Consists of 9 databases: •ARTBibliographies Modern (ABM) •Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) •International Bibliography of Art (IBA) •Arts and Humanities Full Text (A&H FT) •American Film Institute Catalog (AFI) •FIAF Plus •Film Index International (FII) •International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMP FT) •International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (IIPA FT).
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
An index to articles in several hundred journals in the areas related to communication and mass media from the early 1900s to the present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles, book chapters, and dissertations in literature, languages, folklore, & communication. Includes links to available full-text articles. Great for literary criticism and explication. Does not include book reviews. Tip: Start by searching for broad topics (e.g., Virginia Woolf) and narrow from there.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for many journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search for your topic in the full text of over 2,000 scholarly journals covering over 30 disciplines in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. JSTOR includes the archival runs of journals, offering cover-to-cover full text back to each journal’s first issue. JSTOR does not usually include the last few years of the journals. Books at JSTOR offers more than 35,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full text of over 500 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

For a list of film journals available through Hunter Library, follow the link below.

Film journals

Film reviews

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Popular magazines, selected newspapers, including the New York Times, and scholarly journals, many with full-text articles. Coverage: 1960-present, date varies by publication.
To find film reviews:
-Select the Advanced Search option under the search bar.
-In the top search box type the film title (in quotes if it is a multi-word title).
-Scroll down to Search Options. Under Document Type, select Film Review.
Arts Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Arts Premium Collection encompasses cross-searchable databases with thousands of journal titles, ensuring deep searches of extensive collections in Art, Design, Architecture, Humanities,
Film/Screen Studies, Music, Performing Arts, and more.
To find film reviews:
-Select the Advanced Search option above the search box.
-In the top search box type the film title (in quotes if it is a multi-word title).
-Scroll down to Document Type. Select Review.
New York Times (NYT) through ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Full-text movie reviews from the New York Times. Covers 1980 to the present, so use this NY Times link to find reviews for more recent films.
To find film reviews:
-Select the Advanced Search option next to the search box.
-The top search box will be populated with text. Do not delete that text.
-In the bottom search box, type the film title (in quotes if it is a multi-word title).
-Scroll down to Document Type. Select Review.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-text movie reviews from the New York Times. Covers 1851 up through 5 years ago, so use this NY Times link to find reviews for older films.
To find film reviews:
-Select the Advanced Search option above the search box.
-In the top search box, type the film title (in quotes if it is a multi-word title).
-Scroll down to Document Type. Select Review.

Film Studies

Overview

Articles

Film reviews

HUNTER LIBRARY

QUICK LINKS

HOURS