Research Guides: Get Published!: Task 1: Explore Publication Venues

Task 1: Explore Publication Venues

Choose a possible outlet for your work:

Find a journal

Option 1: The Directory Method

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (Ulrichsweb) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive and authoritative information on magazines, newspapers, and journals published worldwide. Allows you to browse by subject and gives basic information about each periodical along with URL and contact information.
- Look for full text entries from Magazines for Libraries, which highlights some of the best journals in each discipline.
- Take advantage of other limits such as peer reviewed and "active" (actively published).

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
If you want to publish in an open access journal, use this interdisciplinary directory.

Cabell’s Directories of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new window
Cabell’s Directories provide publishing information on over 3000 journals in business, education, psychology, and computer science. Each entry includes the journal name and general contact information, subject areas, manuscript and submission guidelines, reviewing process (type, time for review, etc.), and acceptance rates.

Option 2: The Database Method

Another option is to look for the scholarly conversations about your topic. To do that, search your topic in an interdisciplinary database. When you find some journals that are covering your subject area, use Google to find the journal's home page and instructions for authors.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary databases covers over 13,000 journals, but you can use Google Scholar or your favorite disciplinary database for your area.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a web search engine that finds scholarly literature, including papers, theses, books, and reports. By searching Google Scholar from the library’s webpage, you will have free linked access to the library’s subscription holdings. Other links from Google Scholar may prompt you to pay for articles, but DO NOT PAY for articles. We will help you get the articles you need.

Find a book publisher

Option 1: Look through Your Favorite Journals

The book reviews and oft-ignored "books received" lists that appear in most journals will give you a list of potential book publishers. Here's an example of a books received list.

Option 2: The Database (Library Catalog) Method

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for your topic/subject in the library catalog to find recent books published in your area--then look at the publication information. Search the name of the publisher (i.e., Brill, Wiley, Sage) in Google to find more information about the publisher, the scope of the publications, and instructions for authors.

Option 3: Browse a Directory

Members of The Association of American University Presses
List of 130 Academic Presses

Find a conference

Option 1: Google It!

For calls for papers and proposals, good old Google is probably your best bet; it should pick up most public announcements, often including professional organizations. Type in your subject area or your discipline along with calls for papers or calls for proposals.

Example search: biology and calls for papers or calls for proposals

Note: This search will also pick up calls for papers by journal editors/publishers.

Other options:

Twitter. Use Twitter's Search Engine to find posts about calls for papers or proposals.
Professional list-servs, some of which have search functions if you haven't been following them regularly--or search your email inbox. A Google search will often unearth list-serv postings.

Pay attention to the date the information was posted--unless you have a time machine.

Get Published!

Task 1: Explore Publication Venues

Find a journal

Find a book publisher

Find a conference

HUNTER LIBRARY

QUICK LINKS

HOURS