Research Guides: Political Science and Public Affairs: Demographics and Data

Start Here

SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) This link opens in a new window
Make custom charts and maps using various demographic data from the census and more.
Number of Simultaneous Users: 3

IPUMS
"IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space."

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal that integrates data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets on over 60,000 topics from 18,000 sources.

Explore Census Data
A portal for searching the Census.gov website and a good place to start.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
A compilation of statistics gathered by different agencies and organizations; easy to search by a topic (e.g., elections, crime, education). A great place to start.
ICPSR (Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
This database "provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use." Includes downloadable data sets for American Community Survey, American National Election Study, General Social Survey.

Odum Institute, UNC: Data Archive
Social Science archive includes polling and public opinion data and information specific to North Carolina.
Pew Research Center
"A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions."

Explore Census Data
A portal for searching the Census.gov website and a good place to start.
City and County Data Book
Census data for county level; tables will often provide historical data.
IPUMS
American Community Survey

SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) This link opens in a new window
Number of Simultaneous Users: 3

Documents & Policies

Start with a Google search, using official organization's websites. If you are having trouble finding government documents, try our guide:

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for speeches, the Congressional Record, presidential papers and much more. Many items will be available online; others can be checked out at the library.

Legal Cases and Decisions

Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Good for finding collections of legal information on a topic as well as collections of political speeches.

American National Election Studies (ANES)
"High quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation." You must register for an account to download data.
Odum Institute, UNC: Data Archive
Social Science archive includes polling and public opinion data and information specific to North Carolina.
Pew Research Center
"A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions."

ICPSR (Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
An archive of social science data, which includes the General Social Survey and other important data sets. Designed for more in-depth data manipulation rather than a quick search.

The Historical Statistics of the United States
Call Number: WCU REFERENCE HA202.H57 2006
ISBN: 9780521817912
Publication Date: 2006-01-30

Copies of the Statistical Abstract (1922-1925; 1936-2012) are kept behind the Reference Desk at Hunter Library. They might be easier to browse.