Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

Political Science and Public Affairs

Guide for finding books, articles, data, and other information for Political Science and Public Affairs

Key Resources and Databases

Database Logo

SocINDEX with Full Text

This major research database for Sociology indexes over 3,300 journal and other titles. It contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895 and 72 "priority" coverage journals. The database also includes full text for 547 books and 6,711 conference papers. In addition there is a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus and searchable cited references.

Image of US Capitol Building

CQ Magazine (CQ Weekly)

Coverage of the U.S. Congress, including the status of bills, votes and amendments, and floor and committee activity.

Logo

Library Catalog

The classic version of the library catalog. Search the library’s collections to find books, e-books, journal titles, films, and more. Search your topic by keyword or subject--or search for specific items by author or title.

Newspaper Image

News & Newspapers

Contains the full text of these historical newspapers: the Washington Post (1877-1996), Los Angeles Times (1881-1989), New York Times (1851 - 2009), and Chicago Tribune (1849-1989). As well as The Wall Street Journal 1984-Present and other newspapers.

Logo

The News and Observer

The Raleigh News & Observer provides the full text of the regional newspaper from 1991 to the present including the Chapel Hill News, as well as the blog (2008-present) and web editions (2005-present).

Logo

SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap)

Web-based mapping application enabling creation of professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Users are encouraged to create a personal account within Simply Map. Without an account, click the "Login as Guest" option.

Logo

Sage Research Methods

A research methods tool that contains SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Includes the popular “little green books” and “little blue books,” which cover specific topics for research and data analysis.

Logo

ICPSR (Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research)

This database "provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use." ICPSR also hosts several special topic archives, sponsored by agencies external to ICPSR, which focus on the archiving of data in specific subject areas.

Logo

Almanac of American Politics

Details about each state's politicians, including Congressional representatives, senators, and governors, voting records, district maps, election results, and additional data and context for the political climate of each state. Online version covers 2012-2016; the 2018 edition is in the Reference collection REFERENCE JK6 .A4; Print copies of 1972-2016 are in WCU GENERAL JK6 .A4.

Photo of Capitol

CQ Almanac

Organized by theme, CQ Almanac provides "accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session."