Research Guides: Guide for English Graduate Students: Journals

I need a journal related to my area of study.

1. Search a database such as MLA International Bibliography (language and literature) or Academic Search Premier (interdisciplinary) and see what journals are publishing relevant topics.Or try the English Quick Search on the Welcome page of this guide.

Articles/Databases List

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles, book chapters, and dissertations in literature, languages, folklore, & communication. Includes links to available full-text articles. Great for literary criticism and explication. Does not include book reviews. Tip: Start by searching for broad topics (e.g., Virginia Woolf) and narrow from there.

2. Use one of the directories on this guide such as Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (see options below):

I need information about a journal.

Find the Journal's Website (via Google)
The journal's website will give you a lot of juicy and up-to-date info. Make sure you find the instructions for authors/submissions section.

MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides information to 7,100 periodicals, most of which cover topics in language and literature. Information about each periodical includes subscription prices, circulation, frequency, and submission guidelines.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (Ulrichsweb) This link opens in a new window
This mega-periodicals directory allows you to search for periodical information by a topic (e.g., rhetoric) or a title. After you search, you can limit to peer-reviewed or electronic only. It also includes Magazines for Libraries, which provides reviews for select titles. Look for "reviews" at the bottom of the journal's entry.
Cabell’s Directories of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new window
Useful for topics in the social sciences (such as foster care).

I need to find an electronic/online journal.

Journals that are published online-only may be open access or they may require subscription fees. Many of the library databases index online-only journals, so you can look them up the same way: by the Journal Title Search in the Library Catalog.

Here's how to figure out if something is online-only:

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (Ulrichsweb) This link opens in a new window
This mega-periodicals directory allows you to search for periodical information by a topic (e.g., rhetoric) or a title. After you search, you can limit to peer-reviewed or electronic only.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Most open access journals, but not all, are "born digital."

I need a specific journal.

Once you have a specific journal title, you just need to search for it in the Library Catalog (or the Journals tab on the library's homepage). Or use the search box below.

Search Beyond the Library's Collection

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Records of books, media, manuscripts cataloged by libraries throughout the world. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain items that are not in the Library Catalog (ASU, UNCA, WCU).

Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary loan (ILL) enables the library to borrow items from libraries all over the country as well as internationally.

More info

Jisc Open policy finder
The Jisc Open policy finder replaces SHERPA/RoMEO and provides a listing of publishers' copyright agreements & retained author rights.

Guide for English Graduate Students: Journals

I need a journal related to my area of study.

I need information about a journal.

I need to find an electronic/online journal.

I need a specific journal.

Search Beyond the Library's Collection

More info

What is Open Access?

HUNTER LIBRARY

QUICK LINKS

HOURS