Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What do you need to find?
Background Info: Encyclopedias, Overviews, Biographies by Time Period
The Encyclopedia of North American Colonial Conflicts to 1775 by
Publication Date: 2008-08-13
The only multivolume encyclopedia covering all aspects of North American colonial warfare, with special attention paid to the social, political, cultural, and economic affairs that were affected by the conflicts. * 875 entries cover each war and conflict, addressing the military, political, social, and cultural aspects of each confrontation * Overview essays on all major conflicts place each one in context * Comprehensive cross-reference and further reading sections are provided for each entry * A lavish art program includes numerous maps, nearly 350 illustrations and photographs, and 26 charts and graphs * A statistics section filled with extensive data on all major nations and groups involved in the colonial conflicts
The Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War by
Publication Date: 2006-09-22
This definitive scholarly reference on the American Revolution-written by acclaimed researchers and military experts from around the world-covers the causes, course, and consequences of the war and the political, social, and military origins of the nation.
American Civil War by
Call Number: WCU REFERENCE E468 .A5329 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-30
Every Day of the Civil War by
Publication Date: 2010-07-30
From the early seizure of government property during the latter part of 1860 to the final Confederate surrender in 1865, this book provides a day-to-day account of the U.S. Civil War. Although the book provides a daily chronicle of the combat, it is written in narrative form to give readers some continuity as they move from skirmish to skirmish. During the course of the saga, the book also chronicles the life spans of more than 600 Union and Confederate vessels, documenting when possible the time of each vessel's acquisition, commissioning, major engagements, and decommissioning. Seven appendices provide lists of prominent Union and Confederate officers, primary naval actions, and Medal of Honor recipients from 1863 to 1865.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by
Publication Date: 2009-02-02
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brownruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape. Covering African American history in all areas of U.S. history and culture from 1896 to the present, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries that are all signed by leading scholars and experts, making this five-volume set the most reliable and extensive treatmentto be found on African American history in the twentieth century. The set also contains 500 images and roughly 640 biographies, as well as an entry on each of the fifty states. In addition to its comprehensive coverage of African Americans, the Encyclopedia also contains entries about key figureswho affected the lives of African Americans in particular and Americans in general. Unrivalled in breadth and scope, this is the preeminent source of information on this topic and is destined to become a trusted reference source for years to come.