Research Guides: Anthropology: New Books

New and Forthcoming Titles, Anthropology and Sociology

Social Science Orders, Fall 2022
We have access to other items via our collections such as JSTOR. Some items are purchased from a separate budget (such as streaming films). If you are looking for a specific item, use the Library Catalog.
Social Science Orders, Spring 2023

The New York Times Subscription via Hunter Library
Digital access for WCU faculty, staff, and students.

Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window Manual for the citation documentation style used in history and other humanities fields and uses footnotes or endnotes.
Gale Digital Scholar Lab This link opens in a new window The Gale Digital Scholar Lab is a platform for text analysis, data mining, and data visualization. Using Gale’s Primary Sources archive, you can build content, clean, and analyze it. The tools cover document clustering, Named Entity Recognition, Ngrams, parts of speech, sentiment analysis, and topic modeling. The researcher can upload their own documents as well. To use this resource, you must login with your WCU credentials.
Libby by OverDrive This link opens in a new window Access to popular and educational ebooks and audiobooks. Download the Libby app from Apple or Google or access on the web at https://libbyapp.com. Books can also be read on Kindles.

Atlanta Constitution Historical This link opens in a new window Digitized images of the major daily newspaper in the Atlanta area from 1886-1984.
Harper's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Harper's Magazine Archive provides searchable, full-text access to every issue of Harper's Magazine from 1850 to the present. Harper's Magazine is a monthly general-interest magazine covering literature, politics, culture and the arts; it is the second oldest continuously-published monthly magazine in the United States.
Newsweek This link opens in a new window The Newsweek Archive offers digital access the full run of the US edition of Newsweek, from its launch in 1933 to 2012 (when the print edition originally ceased).* With an international circulation that peaked at more than 3 million, it has been one of the largest and most influential weekly consumer magazines. Renowned for its high-quality reporting and commentary, the archive charts the key US and global events and issues across eight decades.
The New Yorker Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window The New Yorker Archive provides access to every page of The New Yorker going back to its first issue in 1925. The New Yorker is a weekly magazine with a mix of reporting on national and international politics and culture, profiles of people, humor and cartoons, fiction and poetry, and reviews and criticism of books, movies, theatre, classical and popular music, television, art, and fashion.