Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

Using EndNote Basic: Bibliography & Formatting

Guide to installing, using, and making the most of this citation management software.

Inserting citations into your paper using Cite While You Write

Image - Inserting citations into your paper using Cite While You WriteFind and insert a citation in your Word document using EndNote Web’s Find Citation(s) tool. This tool searches your library (all reference fields for all references)

  1. Move the cursor where you want the citation .
  2. Depending on your version of Word, you will need to find the EndNote toolbar and click on "find citations".**
  3. Enter a search term to find the references. You can use keywords, author names, etc.  
  4. Click search - your EndNote Web library will be searched and a list of matching references will appear.
  5. Select the reference(s) you want.
  6. Click insert.

**Note: Before you click on "find citations" make sure you've chosen your citation style from the drop down menu in the tool bar.

Create a bibliography

Image - Create a bibliography

To create a bibliography in EndNote Basic start under "format" and choose "bibliography". You will have three options before you can save or print your bibliography:

  1. References: Choose from your organized groups of references, all of your references, or your unfiled references.
  2. Bibliographic Style: Choose a style from the drop-down list. You can also create a favorites list that will limit the drop-menu to those styles you select.
  3. File Format: Choose from HTML (best for print option), TXT, or RTF.

Once you have made your selections you can save the file, email it, or preview & print the bibliography.

Cite While You Write (CWYW)

On the "download installers" page on EndNote Basic you can download the CWYW plug-in for Word. The tool is available for Windows and Mac. Once the download and installation is complete you will be able to access EndNote Basic from the toolbar in Word.