Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

For Faculty & Staff

Information for Faculty and Staff

Adding persistent links to your web-based teaching material

Want to provide access to full-text material from your web page? You can create persistent links to access full-text articles from many of Hunter Library’s databases. The URL can be incorporated into a webpage, a learning management system such as Canvas, or even sent in an e-mail.

1. Determine full-text availability by using the Title Search in the catalog to search for a particular journal title. The catalog record will indicate online availability of full-text and the range of accessible years. Click through the links to access the full text. 

2. Check for a place in the article or book record that says Permanent Link or Permalink. Copy and paste that link into Canvas, etc.

 

Make your own persistent link

Databases that Provide a Persistent Link

You can cut and paste the URL from the address bar for these journal publishers. If a publisher is not on the list, you must use the provided "persistent link to this article." 

  • ACM Digtal Library
  • ACS Publications
  • Brill
  • JSTOR
  • Project Muse
  • Springer

In EBSCO databases, you can go to the Permalink option to the right of the article abstract. This permalink may be copied and pasted into your course management software.