Skip to Main Content
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

Leisure Reading

See also

What is Rainbow Book Month?

Originally established in the early 1990s by The Publishing Triangle as National Lesbian and Gay Book Month, this occasion is an opportunity for book lovers and libraries with the very best in LGBTQIA+ literature. Celebrated by the American Library Association (ALA) since 2015, GLBT Book Month™ was renamed Rainbow Book Month™ in 2020, in coordination with the ALA Rainbow Round Table's name change in 2019.

--American Library Association Website 

Rainbow Book Month

Book covers representing the rainbow.

Hunter Library joins hundreds of libraries in celebration of June as Rainbow Book Month™, a national celebration of authors and books that reflect LGBTQIA+ experiences. We are committed to developing diverse and inclusive collections, including the very best in LGBTQIA+ literature.

Browse New Books

Stonewall Awards (ALA)

The Stonewall Book Awards for LGBTQIA+ books, which started in 1971, is sponsored by the American Library Association's Rainbow Round Table. Awards are given for literature, nonfiction, children's, and young adult books for "exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience."