We have a number of German-English Dictionaries. You can find them in the Reference section (1st floor) and the General stacks (Ground floor) under PF 3640.
We also have online versions available to you:
Collins German Unabridged Dictionary, 8th Edition by
The richest resource for German study Comprehensive and authoritative, including the latest words and phrases from contemporary German and English Key phrases, idioms, and set grammatical structures are highlighted to help you understand more complex entries Culture boxes explain the origins of phrases from literature, film, and popular culture to aid translation and to improve your understanding Recommended by university tutors for German degree reading lists Acclaimed Language in Use supplement contains hundreds of examples in real-life contexts such as essay writing, e-mail messages, and telephone conversations to help you use German fluently and naturally The new Business & Finance supplement contains all the phrases you need to communicate in common business situations, covering everything from banking and finance to insurance and accounting Clear layout with headwords helps you find the words you need quickly and easily 350,000 references special entries on life and culture in German-speaking countries 500,000 translations explanations of complex words in both languages specialist vocabulary ideal for advanced learners and professionals using German
Use the catalog search box to locate books, media and other library resources available from the WCU, ABC Express (ASU & UNCA), and libraries around the world.
Want to browse the stacks? German materials are located in these call number ranges:
Recommended and suggested subscription databases for locating articles related to German literature, language and culture can be found from the WCU Library website:
On each tab you will find a few texts related to Germany to give you an idea of what the library has available. If these items don't fit your needs try a search in the library catalog for your topic.
Rereading German History by
In this text, the author draws together his review essays on the political, economic, cultural and social history of Germany through war and reunification. This book provides a study of how historians - mainly German, American, British, and French - have provided a series of differing and often conflicting readings of the German past in recent years. It also presents a reconsideration of German history in the light of the recent decline and fall of the German Democratic Republic, collapse of the Berlin Wall and the reunification of Germany.
Germany by
This new edition of a best-selling history of Germany, originally published in 1976, includes the great watershed of 1989#150;90 and its aftermath. With twelve maps, a chronology of events, and an updated bibliographical essay, Germany: A Short History provides a thorough introduction to German history from antiquity to the present.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture by
With more than 1,100 entries written by an international group of over 150 contributors, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture brings together myriad strands of social, political and cultural life in the post-1945 German-speaking world. With a unique structure and format, an inclusive treatment of the concept of culture, and coverage of East, West and post-unification Germany, as well as Austria and Switzerland, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture is the first reference work of its kind. Containing longer overviews of up to 2,000 words, as well as shorter factual entries, cross-referencing to other relevant articles, useful further reading suggestions and extensive indexing, this highly useable volume provides the scholar, teacher, student or non-specialist with an astonishing breadth and depth of information.
Beyond Political Correctness by
The articles assembled in this book discuss important questions about German society and the very notion of what being German means in the age of globalization and the vanishing of nation-states in a continuously strengthening European Union; the question about what is German culture in a postmodern era; and how the past affects and shapes the present and future of hybrid German generations. Taking into account not only national but also transnational and recent global developments and concomitant critical debates, this book continues to engage in the discourses of rethinking German national identity, exploring socio-cultural, literary and cinematic responses by German, German Jewish, and other minority authors and filmmakers. These essays focus particularly on trends since the turn of the millennium, and explore how these trends and their new developments are represented and interpreted through the eyes of different media. "Beyond Political Correctness: Remapping German Sensibilities in the 21st Century "will appeal to readers with a wide variety of academic interests, including cultural history, film studies and contemporary German literature, German-Jewish and Minority literature.
Culture Shock! Germany by
CultureShock! Germany dispels the stereotypes and explores the realities of unified Germany, giving readers an insight into its varied people and customs. Find out how a makler can help you locate the right accommodation, be aware of the importance of health insurance and prepare yourself for the short German work week that comes complete with an annual 30 days of holiday. Understand what it is to be an Ausländer and take advantage of the practical information on how to fit in and settle into a country that is still recovering from the scars of World War II and the separation of east and west. Learn to appreciate the various versions of wurst and the different types of beer. CultureShock! Germany is the definitive guide for anyone who wants to settle well into German society.
Beyond Bratwurst by
Thanks to Oktoberfest and the popularity of beer gardens, our thoughts on German food are usually relegated to beer, sausage, pretzels, and limburger cheese. But the inhabitants of modern-day Germany do not live exclusively on bratwurst. Defying popular perception of the meat and potatoes diet, Ursula Heinzelmann’s Beyond Bratwurst delves into the history of German cuisine and reveals the country’s long history of culinary innovation. Surveying the many traditions that make up German food today, Heinzelmann shows that regional variations of the country’s food have not only been marked by geographic and climatic differences between north and south, but also by Germany’s political, cultural, and socioeconomic history. She explores the nineteenth century’s back-to-the-land movement, which called for people to grow food on their own land for themselves and others, as well as the development of modern mass-market products, rationing and shortages under the Nazis, postwar hunger, and divisions between the East and West. Throughout, she illustrates how Germans have been receptive to influences from the countries around them and frequently reinvented their cuisine, developing a food culture with remarkable flexibility. Telling the story of beer, stollen, rye bread, lebkuchen, and other German favorites, the recipe-packed Beyond Bratwurst will find a place on the shelves of food historians, chefs, and spätzle lovers alike.
Cooking of Germany by
176 Central Drive
Cullowhee, NC 28723
Administration: 828-227-7485
Reference: 828-227-7465
Circulation: 828-227-7485
