Health and Human Sciences (HHS)

"This book provides all the information and strategies students need to pass the exam and to gain professional insights into the history and the future of health education...In addition, anyone interested in being a health educator can benefit from the last chapter, which describes career opportunities in the field. For students of health education and related majors, the CHES exam is a credential that sets them apart when looking for a job. This is an exceptional certification guide for anyone who is planning to take the exam." Score: 98, 5 Stars, Doody's Medical Reviews This exam review is a trusted resource for anyone preparing for the Certified Health Education Specialist (CHES(R)) exam offered by the National Commission for Health Education Credentialing, Inc. (NCHEC). With completely updated chapters to reflect the Eight Areas of Responsibility and Competencies this new edition provides the blueprint and structure of the revised CHES(R) exam implemented in 2022. Written by experienced health educators credentialed by the NCHEC, and featuring 325 questions, answers, and rationales in an easily digestible format, this guide offers essential test-taking prep, including a full practice exam, and key strategies for passing the exam. For further professional insight, this review also contains a chapter on continuing professional development, including the requirements and sources for continuing education to maintain CHES(R) certification and information about the advanced credential NCHEC offers, the Master Certified Health Education Specialist (MCHES(R)). This 2nd edition continues to be a leading resource for anyone preparing for the CHES(R) exam. Key Features: 325 practice questions with answers and detailed rationales Completely updated and reorganized content reflecting the Eight Areas of Responsibility and associated Competencies Relevant content and background information written by MCHES(R) certified authors, including a Test Day Q&A Sample exam with the expected mix of questions from each of the Eight Areas of Responsibility and an answer section with explanations of the correct answer Advice on career development and continuing education as a Certified Health Education Specialist Information about the advanced credential offered by the NCHEC, the Master Certified Health Education Specialist (MCHES(R)) ExamPrepConnect Features: All the high-quality content from the book Personalized study plan based on initial certification date Ability to study by topic area to identify strengths and weaknesses Timed practice test that simulates the test-taking environment Discussion board to connect with the CHES(R) exam-prep community

Principles of Health Education and Promotion provides readers with a solid foundation in the history, philosophy, theory, and ethics of health education. Considered the best overall introduction to the growing field of health education and promotion, the text connects fundamental topics to research, resources, and practitioners. It covers the roles and responsibilities of health education specialists, potential occupational settings, and the ethics that inform professional decisions. Looking at the past, present, and future of health, health care, and health education and promotion, the book features discussions of recent health reforms, the evolving professional landscape, the use of social media in health promotion, and much more.

Updated to keep pace with this ever-evolving field, the fifth edition of Community and Public Health Education Methods: A Practical Guide teaches students to effectively communicate health education messages and positively influence the norms and behaviors of both individuals and communities. Written by and for health education specialists, this text explores the methods used by health educators, including didactic techniques designed to guide others toward the pursuit of a healthy lifestyle.Divided into four sections, this well-organized guide begins with a focus on building the foundation for selecting and applying community and public health education methods. It then explores acquiring tools necessary for applying community and public health education and health promotion strategies. Section III examines health communication and media, including exploring social marketing concepts, applying health communication skills, using social media, and exploring digital media strategies. The final section focuses on community and advocacy level methods. Key Features:3 new chapters! Applying a Health Literacy Framework (4); Applying Motivational Interviewing Techniques (7); and Exploring Digital Media Strategies (11)Coverage of the latest industry standards, guidelines, and competencies, including the HESPA II CHES competencies.Wholly revised chapter on legislative advocacyDiscussion of health promotion and various techniques including multi-level and multicomponent interventions.Practical examples throughout, including many on COVID-19 Navigate eBook Access (included with the printed text and available stand-alone) for convenient online and offline access to the enhanced digital text.

Discover the Tools You Need to Become Proficient in Conducting Health Education Programs -- Inside and Outside the Classroom!The skills necessary to plan and deliver effective health education programs are fundamentally the same in the classroom, workplace, hospital, and community settings. The Fourth Edition of Health Education: Creating Strategies for School and Community Health assists health educators in making appropriate program planning decision based on the needs of their clients and the educational settings. The authors encourage the systematic development of sound presentation methods and illustrate the evolving state of health education.The philosophy presented in this text is based on the premise that the core of health education is the process of health education. The Fourth Edition is a must-have resource for health education methods courses.New and Key Features:Includes new information on Healthy People 2020, MyPlate, and 2010 Dietary guidelines.Provides the latest information on the use of technology in health educationIncorporates health educator competencies, case studies, objectives, questions, and exercises in each chapterIncludes expanded content on health literacyDiscusses the unique qualities of adult learners

Needs and Capacity Assessment Strategies for Health Education and Health Promotion, Fourth Edition provides practitioners with a handbook that can be used in the classroom and in the field. It focuses on realistic needs and capacity assessment strategies with considerations for preparation, implementation, and incorporation of findings into the planning process. It also provides an overview of settings, specific target audiences, approaches to assessing needs, and recommendations for addressing problems encountered along the way. The Fourth Edition continues to be reader friendly and worthwhile in terms of practical recommendations. The twelve chapters are realistic process discussions with mini-examples at the end based on the author's experiences and those of others in the field. Case studies provide insight into various combinations of strategies used in a variety of settings. Two special articles at the end of the book provide further insight regarding community risk estimation and the use of metaphors to gain a better understanding of the perceived needs and capacities that are assessed.

The essential health behavior text, updated with the latest theories, research, and issues Health Behavior: Theory, Research and Practice provides a thorough introduction to understanding and changing health behavior, core tenets of the public health role. Covering theory, applications, and research, this comprehensive book has become the gold standard of health behavior texts. This new fifth edition has been updated to reflect the most recent changes in the public health field with a focus on health behavior, including coverage of the intersection of health and community, culture, and communication, with detailed explanations of both established and emerging theories. Offering perspective applicable at the individual, interpersonal, group, and community levels, this essential guide provides the most complete coverage of the field to give public health students and practitioners an authoritative reference for both the theoretical and practical aspects of health behavior. A deep understanding of human behaviors is essential for effective public health and health care management. This guide provides the most complete, up-to-date information in the field, to give you a real-world understanding and the background knowledge to apply it successfully. Learn how e-health and social media factor into health communication Explore the link between culture and health, and the importance of community Get up to date on emerging theories of health behavior and their applications Examine the push toward evidence-based interventions, and global applications Written and edited by the leading health and social behavior theorists and researchers, Health Behavior: Theory, Research and Practice provides the information and real-world perspective that builds a solid understanding of how to analyze and improve health behaviors and health.

A practical introduction to participatory program evaluation Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs provides a comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of evaluation, with a participatory model that brings stakeholders together for the good of the program. Linking community assessment, program implementation, and program evaluation, this book emphasizes practical, ongoing evaluation strategies that connect theory with application. This updated second edition includes new discussion on planning policy change programs using logic models and theory of change, plus expanded coverage of processes, outcomes, data collection, and more. Each chapter includes classroom activities and group discussion prompts, and the companion website provides worksheets, lecture slides, and a test bank for instructors. Mini cases help illustrate the real-world applications of the methods described, and expanded case studies allow students to dig deeper into practice and apply what they've learned. Accurate and effective evaluation is the key to a successful program. This book provides a thorough introduction to all aspects of this critical function, with a wealth of opportunities to apply new concepts. Learn evaluation strategies that involve all program stakeholders Link theory to practice with new mini cases and examples Understand the uses, processes, and approaches to evaluation Discover how ongoing evaluation increases program effectiveness Public and community health programs are a vital part of our social infrastructure, and the more effective they are, the more people they can serve. Proper planning is important, but continued evaluation is what keeps a program on track for the long term. Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs provides clear instruction and insightful discussion on the many facets of evaluation, with a central focus on real-world service.

Planning, Implementing, and Evaluating Health Promotion Programs, Eighth Edition provides students with a comprehensive overview of the practical and theoretical skills needed to plan, implement, and evaluate health promotion programs in a variety of settings. The Eighth Edition incorporates a straightforward, step-by-step format to make concepts clear and the full process of health promotion planning understandable. This edition features updated information throughout, including the most current Responsibilities, Competencies and Subcompetencies (NCHEC & SOPHE, 2020), the Code of Ethics for the Health Education Profession (CNHEO, 2020), a Report of the Joint Committee on Health Education and Promotion Terminology, and a new set of goals and objectives for the nation -- Healthy People 2030.