Research Guides: Health and Human Sciences (HHS): Research methods & research evaluation

Consuming research

How to read a scientific paper
Short, direct guidance on consuming healthcare-focused research from the MRC/CSO Social and Public Health Sciences Unit, University of Glasgow
Ten simple rules for reading a scientific paper
Carey MA, Steiner KL, Petri WA Jr (2020) Ten simple rules for reading a scientific paper. PLoS Comput Biol 16(7): e1008032. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pcbi.1008032
Research terms - CASP Glossary
Short definitions for study types, research terms, etc.
What are "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)" publications?
Database provider EBSCOhost's explanation of what materials result when their "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)" limit is used. The description is also relevant for understanding broader applications of peer review.
Pointers and Pitfalls in Interpreting Nutrition and Dietetics Research: The Importance of Statistical and Clinical Significance
"The content covers the research questions, definition of clinical significance, hypothesis testing, P values, effect sizes, sample sizes, CIs, power analyses, minimal clinically important differences, and validity. This monograph concludes with a summary of the importance of clinical and statistical results for credentialed nutrition and dietetics practitioners to consider when assessing statistical and clinical significance."
Common sources of bias (Medical Research Council)
"One of the main problems with scientific studies is that bias (the conscious or unconscious influencing of the study and its results) can make them less dependable."

Research evaluation tools

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics' Evidence Worksheets and Quality Criteria Checklists
Part of the Evidence Analysis Manual, multiple checklists are linked midway down the linked page.
Critical Appraisals Skills Programme (CASP) research appraisal checklists
Freely accessible and downloadable checklists to appraise randomized studies, qualitative and quantitative research, case-control and cohort studies, systematic reviews, and more.
JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) critical appraisal tools for evaluating research publications
THE MOST COMPREHENSIVE GATHERING OF RESEARCH APPRAISAL TOOLS BY STUDY AND PUBLICATION TYPE!!! Freely accessible evaluation checklists for cross-sectional, case-control, case series, cohort, qualitative, quantitative, and randomized studies, plus opinion (editorial, non-evidence-based guidance, etc.) and systematic review research
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice model for Nurses and Healthcare Professional
Requires requesting download permissions from Johns Hopkins. Extensive toolkit of MSWord documents, sent as zipped files, focused on model's levels of evidence. Includes research appraisal tools in Appendices E, F, and G.
NHLBI study quality assessment tools
Provides unique study quality assessment tools for intervention studies in particular including controlled intervention studies, observational cohort and cross-sectional studies, before-after (pre-post) studies with no control group
Mixed Methods Appraisal Tool (MMAT)
SANRA—A Scale for the Quality Assessment of Narrative Review Articles, by Baethge, Goldbeck-Wood, & Mertens (2019)
Narrative review / general or basic literature review appraisal tool
Understanding Health Research : A tool for making sense of health studies
Interactive research evaluation tool

Research methods videos

Evidence-informed practice
Quick, basic overview of how evidence can be used to inform and improve patient care and client service.
EMS Research Principles
32-minute video from Waukesha County Technical College provides a great overview of healthcare research methods and principles. Valuable far outside of EMS.
Seek and find full text articles
Short video covering steps to find articles and get at full text.
How to read a scholarly or research article like a shark
LibraryAnn and Smitty's silly video on reading research articles
What is critical appraisal?
9-minute video titled "Critical Appraisal with CASP Part 1" from the University of Sheffield providing a nice overview of what critical appraisal is, how it's conducted, and why it is important.
Building blocks of impact evaluation
8-minute video from UNICEF. "This video summarizes the different elements of impact evaluation and options for planning and managing its various stages."
Data collection and analysis
6-and-a-half-minute video from UNICEF. "This video provides an overview of the issues involved in choosing and using data collection and analysis methods for impact evaluations."
Sensitivity and specificity - explained
3-minute video on sensitivity and specificity from Greg Martin.
Strategies for causal attribution
5-and-a-half minute video from UNICEF. "This video outlines three broad strategies for causal attribution: 1) estimating the counterfactual; 2) checking the consistency of evidence for the causal relationships made explicit in the theory of change; and 3) ruling out alternative explanations, through a logical, evidence-based process."
Case control and cohort studies
7-and-a-half minute video describing and contrasting case-control and cohort studies from Greg Martin
Qualitative research methods
14-and-a-half-minute overview of qualitative research methods from Greg Martin.
Randomized controlled trials (RCTs)
9-minute video from UNICEF. "This video summarizes the key features of an RCT."
The problems with randomized controlled trials
Though focused on economics research, this 2-and-a-half-minute video provides more broadly applicable information on the limitations of interpreting randomized controlled trial research.
Global Health with Greg Martin
Awesome collection of videos on quantitative and qualitative research, writing, public health, so very much more

Research methods electronic resources through the library

Broad listing of research methods ebooks through the library
Quick catalog search results. Search by title or author if you have a specific book in mind.

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
A research methods tool that contains SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Includes the popular “little green books” and “little blue books,” which cover specific topics for research and data analysis.
Research Companion by ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Aligned both to ACRL Information Literacy and Common Core English Language Arts standards, Research Companion provides a framework and foundation for information literacy instruction, guiding students step by step via online streaming modules through the research process to help students develop their critical thinking and information literacy skills.

Essentials of Public Health Research Methods by Ralph J. DiClemente; Richard A. Crosby; Laura F. Salazar
ISBN: 9781284175462
Publication Date: 2020-03-30
Part of the Essential Public Health Series, Essentials of Public Health Research Methods is specifically written for undergraduate students studying public health who want to fully understand the range of research methods as applied to public health. Using the circular model of public health research as an overarching framework, Essentials of Public Health Research Methods provides a clear, time-tested methodology that leads students step-by-step through the research process -- from framing the questions, identifying the study design and choosing methodology to collecting and analyzing data, and disseminating research findings. By following this process, students learn about various facets of public health, while also learning how to select and apply various research methodologies. Key Features:- An opening overview chapter provides the framework for the book, while opening quotes and learning objectives in each chapter provide a roadmap for skills and knowledge to be gained - Current and diverse examples illustrate each component of the process and reflect the range of public health disciplines and interests- Plentiful graphics and charts help illustrate and clarify concepts- Thought-provoking questions at the end of chapters help stimulate thought and discussion
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals by J. Glenn Forister; J. Dennis Blessing
ISBN: 9781284153774
Publication Date: 2019-03-25
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition is an essential resource to help students, faculty, and practitioners understand the research process, interpret data, comprehend results, and incorporate findings into practice. From choosing a research project and developing the research process design, to systematically gathering information, analyzing, interpreting data, differentiating among conflicting results, and finally understanding the overall evaluation, Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition will ease fears and help students and practitioners develop research skills to acquire and contribute knowledge that benefits their patients.

The IRB process

This Flowchart may help guide you.
Additional FAQs can be found on the Human Subjects Research Frequently Asked Questions page: https://www.wcu.edu/learn/office-of-the-provost/research/sponsored-research/research-compliance/Human-Subjects-Research/IRB-faq.aspx
All research personnel, including faculty, staff, subcontractors, students, research supervisors, and unaffiliated investigators, must successfully complete training prior to conducting human subjects research at Western Carolina University. WCU's training is offered through the CITI Program, which may be accessed at www.citiprogram.org.
- Detailed instructions for registering, affiliating with WCU, and selecting the correct course
- Downloading a CITI course completion report

The Research Compliance Office does a pre-review of IRB submissions before they go to an IRB reviewer. This pre-review allows them to be able to make sure that protocols meet all federal regulations while also getting clarification on any items they think might cause a submission to be returned for changes.
IRB approval is required prior to any study activity, per federal regulations (this includes recruitment as well). All of these steps are covered on the InfoEd Training page: https://www.wcu.edu/learn/office-of-the-provost/research/sponsored-research/Infoed.aspx
- Creating a new IRB application : https://www.wcu.edu/_files/provost/NewIRBApplicationInstructions.pdf
- How to respond when modifications are required: https://www.wcu.edu/_files/provost/ORA-ModifyingDocuments.pdf
When you begin working on your IRB submission, please take advantage of templates available on the Forms and Templates page: https://www.wcu.edu/learn/office-of-the-provost/research/sponsored-research/research-compliance/Human-Subjects-Research/IRB-Forms-and-Templates.aspx
For information on recruiting for a study, please view the recruitment standard operating procedure document as well as the important items it highlights that would need to be included: https://www.wcu.edu/_files/provost/RecruitmentofResearchParticipants32323.pdf
- Items include:
  - A statement that the recruitment is for research purposes
  - The name and contact information for the Principal Investigator
  - The purpose of the research
  - A summary of the criteria that will determine participant eligibility (inclusion/exclusion criteria)
  - The time or other commitment required of participants
  - A brief list of participation benefits, if any
- Payment should not be listed as a benefit of participating
- Advertisements may state that participants will be paid, but they should not emphasize the payment by using larger or bold type
- Recruitment materials directed at minors should not include payment information
- For research that may involve sensitive topics, a description of why the individual is receiving recruitment material and/or how the investigators got their contact information
If any of the elements are unclear or missing, the research compliance office will instruct the investigator of necessary modifications or clarifications.
Recruitment cannot begin until the study has been reviewed and the research team has received an approval letter from the research compliance office.

Health and Human Sciences (HHS)

Consuming research

Research evaluation tools

Research methods videos

Research methods electronic resources through the library

The IRB process

HUNTER LIBRARY

QUICK LINKS

HOURS