Research Guides: Health and Human Sciences (HHS): Books, journals, encyclopedias

Books, journals, encyclopedias

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the library’s collections to find print and electronic materials, including books, journals, films, and more. Search by keyword, author, or title.

How to search the library's catalog
WCU Hunter Library guides
Digital library card
A digital version of your CatCard to check out a print book in the library
How to find a book
WCU Hunter Library (YouTube)

After finding materials in the online catalog, use these pieces of information to find it in the library:

Can't find it? Ask for help at the Reference Desk.

E-books, print books, and other resources at Hunter Library

Cherokee health
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Emergency medical care
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Environmental health
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Anatomy
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Integrated health
WCU Hunter Library catalog
LGBTQ+ health
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Medical humanities
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Medical racism
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Nursing
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Nutrition & dietetics
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Pharmacology
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Public health
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Recreational therapy
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Research methods
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Social work
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Speech therapy
WCU Hunter Library catalog
Vaccines
WCU Hunter Library catalog

E-Journals by Discipline
Browse all electronic journals, magazines and newspapers.
Find Journal Articles
WCU Hunter Library guides

Explore specific journal titles here, or see the Literature searching page to begin research and find articles on your topic.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources that provide authoritative information. Entries may be quick facts or in-depth articles. Useful for: background information, key concepts, historical context, and mining reference lists.

Encyclopedias
Full list of electronic encyclopedias and encyclopedia groupings available at Hunter Library

Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Social Work is a classic reference work for social workers that is now continuously updated and includes overview articles, on key topics in social work.
Gale E-books This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative articles from a series of over 25 subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Users may search the full text of all books by keyword. Click "Show All" to select and search a specific encyclopedia

Can't find the full text of something you want? Try searching for the article title in the All-in-One HHS Search on the Literature searching page, and look for the "PDF Full Text" or "Find Full Text" button or link.

The "Find Full Text" link will send users to either a link to the electronic resource, details on the print version of the item, or a link to "No full text available? Try Interlibrary Loan."

Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary loan (ILL) enables the library to borrow items from libraries all over the country as well as internationally.

Health and Human Sciences (HHS)

Books, journals, encyclopedias

HUNTER LIBRARY

QUICK LINKS

HOURS