Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

Health and Human Sciences (HHS)

https://researchguides.wcu.edu/hhs

All-in-One HHS Article Search

The All-in-One HHS Article Search box searches health, psychology, science, education, and related resources including MEDLINE, CINAHL, ERIC, PsycINFO, SocINDEX, SPORTDiscus, Academic Search Complete, and more. Use whenever you need to find articles. You will find many e-books, too.  

  1. Search using 2 to 4 important words or concept about your topic. Focus on a word or phrase related to the primary focus of your research and practice – the person, priority, patient, population, problem, plan, practitioner, or professional.
  2. Go through your first page or two of results and find results that seem like what you need. 
  3. Look for title or subject words in articles you like and use those to further refine the search. If you need more information on specific issues within your wider topic, add in or change search words to reflect what need to find.
  4. If you need to limit your results by peer review status or date, look to the left of your results and locate the REFINE RESULTS column.  Under the column in a section called “Limiters,” click boxes and make date changes as needed.
  5. To get at the full text of things you like, do the following. If you get a "PDF Full Text" image, click that and full text should open. If you only get the purple "Find Full Text" link, click that. A link to get at the electronic full text or, in some cases, information on how to find the print version in the library appears. If such links do not show, click the "No full text available? Try Interlibrary Loan" link that shows after clicking "Find Full Text." If prompted to log into Interlibrary Loan, use your Catamount (student) or WCU (employee) ID and password.
  6. To save citations, click “Add to folder” beside article titles. Click the top folder icon to email or download selections before exiting. When emailing, specify a citation format (AMA, APA, etc.) by selecting the "Citation Format" option - do not trust 100%! 
  7. To better understand and evaluate research articles, consult the awesome tool Understanding Health Research and/or resources from the Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP)

Email Ann Hallyburton at ahallyb@wcu.edu or contact the library if you have trouble.

Can't get at the full text of something? 

  • Find the article in the HHS All-in-One Article Search box (https://researchguides.wcu.edu/hhs/articles). 
  • If you already have the title of an article you want, search using a few words from that title.
  • When you find the title, there will be a "PDF Full Text" or "Find Full Text" link.
  • If you get the "PDF Full Text" link, click that and full text should open right up.  
  • If you only get the purple "Find Full Text" link, click that. A link to the electronic full text or, in some cases, information on finding the print version in the library appears. 
  • If such links do not show, click "No full text available? Try Interlibrary Loan" after clicking "Find Full Text." 
  • If prompted to log into Interlibrary Loan, use your regular Catamount (student) or WCU (employee) ID and password.

Federal, state, tribal, municipal, international information

Clinical tools

LibraryAnn available virtually, via email, Zoom, all kinds of ways! Plus, physical library information

Email Ann Hallyburton at ahallyb@wcu.edu and let her know as much as you can about your information need.  She will email you back (usually very, very quickly).  If you are wanting to virtually meet up, just let her know days/times you would be available (may be able to meet near-immediately).  Virtual meetings with your full group can also be set up.